Division of Emergency Management

The Whatcom County Sheriff’s Office, through its Division of Emergency Management, is responsible for providing emergency management services for all of unincorporated Whatcom County and for the cities of Lynden, Ferndale, Blaine, Sumas, Everson, Nooksack and the Port of Bellingham under an interlocal agreement and the Revised Code and Administrative Code of Washington.  The City of Bellingham Fire Department, through its Office of Emergency Management, provides emergency management services within the City limits of Bellingham.

To ensure effective coordination and the sharing of assets at times of critical need, the Whatcom Unified Emergency Coordination Center was established as the modality for maximizing capabilities and limited resources between the Whatcom County Sheriff’s Office Division of Emergency Management, the Bellingham Fire Department Office of Emergency Management, the Port of Bellingham and other public and private sector partners.  Most emergency coordination will occur in the Emergency Coordination Center.  Partners may undertake joint projects or services at the ECC during non-emergency periods.